Our team

Please contact us through Joke, our management assistant, by e-mail: info@waterfootprint.org.

Executive team

Rick Hogeboom
Executive Director
+31 53 489 3911

Rick takes the lead in the Water Footprint Network. He does so alongside the finalising stage of his PhD research at the University of Twente, in which he assesses how the water footprint concept can inform planning and corporate strategy, e.g. through developing water footprint benchmarks for crop production and setting maximum sustainable blue water footprints (caps) per river basin in the world. See Rick speak - on the water footprint - in his TEDx Talk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCzTJi4XpOA

Joke Meijer
Management Assistant
+31 53 489 4320

Joke is responsible for our general management support. She is the first port of call for people contacting Water Footprint Network.

Xander de Bruine
Coordinator Exchange
+31 6 5152 2405

Xander initiates projects for knowledge exchange across different platforms (exhibitions, conferences, seminars, dialogues sessions and virtual communication) and the engagement of networks, stakeholders and professionals from different fields.

Joep Schyns
Coordinator WaterStat & WaterPub
+31 53 489 4799

Joep maintains the WaterStat and WaterPub databases, alongside his postdoc research at the University of Twente. He holds a PhD in water footprinting (with distinction), and his research focusses on sustainable and effcient allocation of limited blue and green water resources worldwide.

Lara Wöhler
Coordinator School Projects
+31 53 489 7404

Lara is coordinating our school projects. She does this work alongside her PhD research on the grey water footprint of pharmaceuticals from humans and livestock.

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board ensures the financial and legal status of the Water Footprint Network and provides strategic guidance and direction.

Prof. dr ir. Arjen Y. Hoekstra

Arjen Hoekstra is Professor in Water Management at the University of Twente, the Netherlands. He is creator of the water footprint concept (2002) and initiator and co-founder of the Water Footprint Network in 2008. He was Scientific Director of the Water Footprint Network until Dec 2012, after which he moved to the Supervisory Board.

Prof. dr Ashok K. Chapagain


Ashok is Senior Professor at the University of Free State, South Africa. He was Science Director of Water Footprint Network from 2013 to mid-2017 and earlier worked for WWF-UK. Originally an irrigation engineer in Nepal, Ashok did his MSc and PhD at the UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education.

Rita Vázquez Del Mercado Arribas

Rita works for the Mexican Institute of Water Technology (IMTA) as Professional and Institutional Development Coordinator. She was also Deputy Coordinator of Water Education at IMTA (1995-2007) and conducted several programs addressed to teachers and non-formal educators. She served as Regional Coordinator of the UNESCO-IHP and Project WET joint programme "Water and Education for the Americas and the Caribbean" (2006-2010).

Dr Themba Gumbo

Bekithemba (Themba) is Directer of Cap-Net UNDP, an international network for capacity development in sustainable water management. Themba, trained in Zimbabwe, England and the Netherlands, is a civil engineer and holds a PhD in water and sanitation. He is a national from Zimbabwe, permanently resident now in South Africa, and currently living in Brazil.


Our associates have worked closely with us, as former employees or researchers, and continue our work in their new positions.

Dr. Ertug Ercin
Researcher, trainer, adviser

Ertug has a broad experience in advising both companies and governmental entities. He has initiated and led a number of major Water Footprint Assessment projects, such as Bangladesh Water PACT, C&A Water Strategy and Yasar Group Water Risk Assessment.

Dr. Maite M. Aldaya
Researcher, trainer, adviser
+34 61 672 1088

Maite is affiliated to the Water Observatory of the Botín Foundation, Spain. She has a vast experience in water footprint research and training.

Remuneration policy

Since Water Footprint Network depends on your generous gifts and donations, all Board members offer their services on a voluntary and unpaid basis.