Our team

The team at the Water Footprint Network includes staff, Supervisory Council members and Associates.

Staff

Our international team of trained specialists is ready to guide you on your journey to fair and smart water use.

Ruth Mathews
Executive Director
+31 (0)53 489 5383
ruth.mathews@waterfootprint.org
Dr. Ashok K. Chapagain
Science Director
+31 (0)53 489 4320
ashok.chapagain@waterfootprint.org
Dr. Guoping Zhang
Programme Director
+ 31 (0)53 489 4135
guoping.zhang@waterfootprint.org
Dr. Ertug Ercin
Project Manager
+31 (0)53 489 4464
ertug.ercin@waterfootprint.org
Alexandra Freitas
Project Manager
+31 (0)53 489 4157
alexandra.freitas@waterfootprint.org
Xander de Bruine
Knowledge Exchange Manager
+31 (0)65 152 2405
xander.debruine@waterfootprint.org
Matilda Bradshaw
Communications Specialist
+44 (0)777 582 8634
matilda.bradshaw@waterfootprint.org
Daniel Chico Zamanillo
Project Officer
+31 (0)53 489 2665
daniel.chico@waterfootprint.org
Sameer Safaya
Project Officer
+31 (0)53 489 6972
sameer.safaya@waterfootprint.org
Drs. Michiel J. van Heek
Software Developer
+31 (0)53 489 6911
michiel.vanheek@waterfootprint.org
Joke Meijer
Management Assistant
+31 (0)53 489 4320
joke.meijer@waterfootprint.org

Supervisory Council

The Supervisory Council ensures the financial and legal status of the Water Footprint Network and provides strategic guidance and direction.

Mr. Joop de Schutter
Chair

Joop de Schutter has a career in the field of water resources management in many different countries in Europe, South East Asia, Central Asia and Africa. Until 2012, he was acting Deputy Director of the UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education.

Prof. dr.ir. Arjen Y. Hoekstra
Member

Arjen Hoekstra is Professor in Water Management at the University of Twente. He is creator of the water footprint concept (2002) and initiator and co-founder of the Water Footprint Network in 2008. He was Scientific Director of the Water Footprint Network until 31 Dec 2012, after which he moved to the Supervisory Council.

Mr. Joppe F. Cramwinckel
Member

Joppe Cramwinckel is Director of the Water Programme at the World Business Council for Sustainable Development. Before joining the WBCSD, he was Sustainable Development Lead for Shell International Exploration and Production.

Mr. Richard Holland
Member

Richard Holland is Director of WWF’s Market Transformation Initiative which aims to reduce the impact of global commodity production on priority places for biodiversity worldwide. Since joining WWF in 1998 he has also been Chief Conservation Officer at WWF Netherlands and Director of the WWF’s Global Freshwater Programme. Before WWF, Richard worked for Delft Hydraulics in the Netherlands, for UNDP in central Europe and for the European Commission in Brussels.

Associates

Our associates have worked closely with us, as former employees or researchers, and continue our work in their new positions.

Derk Kuiper
Based in The Netherlands
+31 (0)65 204 5772
derk.kuiper@waterfootprint.org
Dr. Erika Zarate
Based in Switzerland
+41 (0)78 890 2927
erika.zarate@waterfootprint.org
Dr. Maite M. Aldaya
Based in Spain
+34 (0)61 672 1088
aldaya@waterfootprint.org
Nicolas Franke
Based in USA
+31 (0)53 489 4135
nicolas.franke@waterfootprint.org